MARKETING – ONLINE

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 13.46.31

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The internet is an excellent marketing tool with many sites free to use allowing me to create marketing platforms for this exhibition.  Below I have listed ways in which I could utilise the internet to market my Elements Exhibition and website:

Exhibition Website – offering pre-visit information and booking options.

  • Desktop
  • Tablet
  • Mobile – Mobile first download times needs to be effective and efficient.

Blog

  • Create a blog attached to the website – visitors can participate and comment
  • blogger outreach as above and invite them to the exhibition

Google

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 13.53.11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Google AdWords
  • Google My Business
  • Google+
  • Youtube – now owned by Google

TripAdisor

Social Media

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 13.55.50

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Facebook Page
  • Twitter – Tweet about the exhibition, follow twitter accounts and engage with conversations related to the subject area of the exhibition.
  • Instagram – #
  • Pinterest

All the above interaction and links from blogs and social networking sites will also increase my search engine recognition: free SEO as a bonus!  I would also include a link to the Exhibition Facebook page, Twitter account, website or other Exhibition site when posting anything online.  Your museum doesn’t need to be on every social network, I could experiment and prioritise what is working for the Exhibition and possibly leave websites which don’t seem to be adding much to achieving my goals.  I can use Google Analytics to monitor this.

SEO (search engine optimisation)

All the major search engines such as Google, Bing and Yahoo have primary search results created from their own ranking formulas.  Searching for ‘museums in Yorkshire’ or ‘museums in Hull’ can give an unprecedented number of hits; it is extremely difficult to get listed in the first two pages or even be found this way, these are strategies below I would look at to aim for my site to rank as high as possible:

KEYWORDS – (content is King) keyword phrases are thought better than individual keywords.  Think of what the user would type into to find the site, focus on one phrase rather than lots of phrases and include this phrase in the content, the headline and links within the page.

INDIVIDUAL PAGES – look at each individual page of the website as an entry route to the site and optimise each page individually with a specific keyword phrase for that page, this way it will increase the number of ways users can access my site.

CONTENT – write strong content, again as above content is king, search engines look at website content to see if it is really about what it says.  This is true of the reader as well they want to see valid and relevant content.

VALID HTML – write valid HTML, if the site where to be developed further than I would need to validate my code, having valid clean code will make it easier for the search engine spider to index a page.  I can do this using https://validator.w3.org.

LINKS being aware of Google’s PageRank system where they place significant emphasis on any links to a site.  The more links I have from partner organisations, tourism websites and websites with a similar theme, the higher my site will be ranked by search engines.

It is advisable that I also include internal links as these are also assessed; the more links I have to a page, the higher chance it has of being ranked.  Some SEOs recommend linking to every page on the site using a text link from another page. The links themselves should be descriptive of what they’re linking to.  My research showed that it is not advisable to try and cheat the search engines by creating questionable links, websites can be de-ranked or totally removed from searches when found to be doing this.

Any changes I make optimising the Elements web pages may not be seen immediately as it can take time to show results/changes to take effect; possibly taking unto 6 weeks for Google to index as site.

One page website

My Elements website is a one page website, since designing the site and through my research I have found that one page websites are not SEO mainly because there is only one page for search engines to rank.  I originally designed it this way because users can easily scroll down the entire website on one page with quick navigation.  This is something I will bear in mind in any future design and builds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

