Research – Inspirational Sites

My aim is to design a site which will generate a good user experience so before starting work on the new designs I wanted to research to see how other sites promoting similar outdoors/holiday experiences did this:

These are an example of some of the sites I have found:

Visit Humboldt

This website is totally engaging with video, sound and the option to click on destinations as you watch the video is an inspiring idea.  Users can choose the type of vacation or visit to Humboldt they would like either, Adventurous, Relaxing, Family or Romantic and their view or journey through the website is tailored to this.  They are then able to select on destinations and add them to an itinerary which they can print, email and share at the end of the video.  The quality of the images and the video is high quality and totally immersive, inspiring and engaging, as a user you get a real feel for the surroundings and the area.

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 12.08.17

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 12.09.20

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 12.10.40

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

www.visithumboldt.com

Centre Parcs

Through my research I found the Centre Parcs TV Advert below which tells a story which is something I hope to do with the video I plan to make for the site.  The TV Advert is compelling as you watch it tells the story of a family of bears and you feel for them, I found it very engaging which is something I hope to be able to do with my video.

 

The Definition of Adventure

The Definition of Adventure was one of the first designs I came across in my research, I liked the way the images connect with the user and the fonts are engaging.  The font used on ‘The Definition of Adventure’ communicates in an informal way where are as the font used below this is more formal.

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 12.31.06

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://culttt.com/2014/08/15/design-inspiration-150/

PentreClawdd Farm

I like the simplicity of the booking process on this site users are able to select the pitch they prefer and book online.

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 11.55.26

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.pentreclawddfarm.co.uk

 

 

 

 

 

 

