Copyright Material – Images, Music and Sounds

When developing my site I was aware that the images, music and sounds I use in the video if not created by myself then I would need permission to use them.

I wanted to develop the site using my own photography but realised as the project developed this would take longer than originally thought when trying to capture that perfect shot or video clip.

I looked for inspiration on Unsplash for my images as these are not covered by copyright regulations.  The Unsplash license allows for their photographs to be used for any purpose — both commercial and personal.

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.51.36

 

 

 

 

 

Creative Commons Zero http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.52.12

 

 

 

 

 

 

I looked for inspiration on Unsplash, I didn’t want to include these on the actual website as they are stock photographs and not unique and do not directly connect with the website that I am developing and could negatively impact on the user experience.

Copyright – what exactly do i need permission for:
Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.29.56

You need permission from the people who wrote the music (composers, lyricists and music publishers) and the people who performed and recorded it (performers and record labels). This means you might need to contact more than one organisation to get permission to use music depending on how you want to use it.

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.29.49

 

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.29.20

You need permission from the person who created the image, a photographer, artist or illustrator or an agency that legitimately represents the copyright holder.

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.29.08

 

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-12 at 10.31.36

 

 

 

The website ‘The Copyright Hub’ helped when researching this and how copyright relates to my own work: http://www.copyrighthub.co.uk/get-permission