My Sketch App – Redesign and Development

For this project I chose to redesign the app ‘My Sketch’ which is compatible with the iPhone , iPad and iPod touch. I have used this app on many occasions before and liked how it transformed my photographs to sketches. When using the app I always thought the colour scheme unimpressive, uninspiring and relished this opportunity to redesign it. Whilst the current app is easy to use and interpret and has good reviews I feel the ranking of images and colour revamp will transform and improve it.

The current app logo suggests ‘pencil sketching’ but with no connection to images. I feel the female image used on the logo is too individualist suggesting usage by a particular demographic. When designing the new logo my aim was to make it immediately recognisable while suggesting what the app actually does and make it non gender or demographic specific.

The functionality of the app is good allowing users to overlay sketch filters onto their images. I do feel one of the areas which comes across negatively is the use of colour. The current colour scheme consists of pastel colours and browns.   Pastel colours are thought calming and soothing. Brown suggests dependability and reliability and can be considered dull and inexpensive; either or a combination of these colours does not suggest creativity or inspiration which the app itself implies.

With the new app designs I was aware of the need to be specific, aware of exactly what was being offered to users, as the space is more restrictive than a desktop. Also with app design user gestures and thumb placement has to be taken into account as gestures make up the human interface for controlling the app. This was an area I considered when redesigning the placement of call to action buttons and menus.

These are areas not mentioned above which I took into account in the redesign:

  • Usability – needs to be usable.
  • Easy to understand –so users can instinctively use the app.
  • Effective, reliable – needs to be effective and reliable.
  • Loads quickly – should load quickly taking into account minimising of code and size of images, major factor in SEO ranking.

In the current app Christmas filters are shown all year round as the initial filters to select from which I feel devalues it. In the new design users can like a filter, which is indicated with a yellow heart. Filters are ranked and shown on the lower area of the screen; ranking is firstly by your ‘liked’ filters and secondly by the most popular.

Instagram uses a similar filter function so users could already be familiar with this funcitionality, which promotes a good user experience. The fact users can instinctively know how to operate the app promotes usability.

My new designs have a more simplistic colour scheme incorporating yellow, which is a vibrant colour and is used to draw your eye to specific areas of the screen and call to action butons. Yellow is thought a warm, happy and exciting colour which suggests creativity and the promotion of vivacity and liveliness both I believe making the app more appealing and engaging.

The new minimalist colour scheme and ranking of filters enables users to focus more on their images allowing them to more effectively and quickly use the app. I feel the new design is more inspiring and engaging making it more current whilst offering an overall better user experience. The app could be developed in the future to allow images to be shared i.e. social media. I found that visual content is more likely to be shared on social media than other type of content, images can speak a thousand words. Facebook posts with images have been found to have more engagement than without images.

The app itself is quite simplistic with the aim to transform images and photography I feel I have been able to enhance it through the colour scheme and ranking of images whilst still keeping the functionality simple and easy to understand.

