Install and Setup Local Version of WordPress

After downloading a local version of WordPress and creating a local database I was able to install WordPress.

To do this on the command line type:

Localhost/’put the name of your local wordpress folder here which you have just created’

sdfssdf

I then entered my database name () and username (root) leaving the password blank

The below screen then indicated I didn’t have a wp-config.php file.  To resolve this I renamed the wp-config-sample.php file in the local wordpress folder to wp-config.php and pasted the below text into the file.

I then got the below error:

After research I learnt I needed to amend the wp-config.php file and enter the database name, user and password in the file so the database connection can be established.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once I had amended the the wp-config.php file and ran the install command again I was then able to install WordPress successfully:

Localhost/’put the name of your local wordpress folder here which you have just created’

Log in Screen to Local Version of WordPress

Once logged in this is the local WordPress Dashboard

This is the link to access this local version of WordPress

http://localhost/wordpress/wp-admin/

